How to Use Databases
TurnitinAPA style
Social Justice in AustraliaYear 9: World War One: Trench Warfare and TechnologyYear 7: Roman BattlesYear 8: Human bodyYear 9: Agricultural ScienceYear 11: Foreign Relations since 1901Year 9 : Australian soldier of World War 1Year 11: Sustainable Communities
Creative CommonsWebsite Evaluation
This is the "Home" page of the "Library Home" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Library Home  

Last Updated: Jul 17, 2017 URL: http://libguides.twgs.qld.edu.au/home Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts

Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Library Hours

Monday toThursday 7:30 am to 5 pm
Friday  7:30 am to 4 pm
Sunday 1 pm to 4 pm

The above hours are for term time only.

The library will be open for borrowing at various times during the holidays.

Please call before visiting on 46872537.

 

Quick Links

 

Where Do You Go When...

What do you do

The answer is to try our TGS Databases found on the new database page on Moodle.

Log in and find Research Databses in your list under My Classes.

 

New Books

Cover Art
Illuminae - Amie Kaufman; Jay Kristoff
ISBN: 9780553499117
Publication Date: 2015-10-20
The first book in an epic series. This morning, Kady thought breaking up with Ezra was the hardest thing she'd have to do. This afternoon, her planet was invaded. The year is 2575, and two rival megacorporations are at war over a planet that's little more than a speck at the edge of the universe. Now with enemy fire raining down on them, Kady and Ezra--who are barely even talking to each other--are forced to evacuate with a hostile warship in hot pursuit. But their problems are just getting started. A plague has broken out and is mutating with terrifying results; the fleet's AI may actually be their enemy; and nobody in charge will say what's really going on. As Kady hacks into a web of data to find the truth, it's clear the only person who can help her is the ex-boyfriend she'd never speak to again. Told through a fascinating dossier of hacked documents--including emails, maps, files, IMs, medical reports, interviews, and more--Illuminae is the first book in a heart-stopping trilogy about lives interrupted, the price of truth, and the courage of everyday heroes.

Cover Art
Anna and the Swallow Man - Gavriel Savit
ISBN: 9781101891810
Publication Date: 2016
A stunning, literary, and wholly original debut novel set in Poland during the Second World War perfect for readers of The Book Thief.
Krakow, 1939. A million marching soldiers and a thousand barking dogs. This is no place to grow up. Anna is just seven years old when the Germans take her father, a linguistics professor, during their purge of intellectuals in Poland. She s alone. And then Anna meets the Swallow Man.He is a mystery, strange and tall, a skilled deceiver with more than a little magic up his sleeve. And when the soldiers in the streets look at him, they see what he wants them to see. The Swallow Man is not Anna s father she knows that very well but she also knows that, like her father, he s in danger of being taken, and like her father, he has a gift for languages: Polish, Russian, German, Yiddish, even Bird. When he summons a bright, beautiful swallow down to his hand to stop her from crying, Anna is entranced. She follows him into the wilderness. Over the course of their travels together, Anna and the Swallow Man will dodge bombs, tame soldiers, and even, despite their better judgment, make a friend. But in a world gone mad, everything can prove dangerous. Even the Swallow Man. Destined to become a classic, Gavriel Savit s stunning debut reveals life s hardest lessons while celebrating its miraculous possibilities."

Cover Art
How to be great : from Cleopatra to Churchill : lessons from history's greatest leaders - James Adonis
ISBN: 9781863958004
Publication Date: 2016
The key to good leadership? Adaptability. Certain situations may require Benjamin Franklin's pragmatism, Dorothea Dix's dynamism, or something altogether different – the most important lesson is that the very best leaders are able to adjust their leadership style to suit any given situation.

Covering more than fifty historical leaders, ranging from Julius Caesar and Eleanor Roosevelt to less familiar figures such as suffragette Emmeline Pankhurst, US President James Madison and environmental activist Wangari Maathai, How To Be Great is an entertaining and insightful leadership book with a difference.

Cover Art
300 Minutes of Danger - Jack Heath
ISBN: 9781760154035
George is trapped in a falling aeroplane with no engine and no pilot. Milla is covered with radioactive waste and her hazard suit is running out of air. Otto is in the darkest depths of the ocean, where something hungry is circling.10 dangerous situations. 10 brave kids. 30 minutes to escape.

 

Request a Book

 

World Catalogue Search

 

News from Flipboard

 

Downloading eBooks and eAudio

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip